UCSB Professors Segalman and Hawker Elected to National Academy of Engineering

BioPACIFIC MIP Celebrates Two of its Leaders

February 10, 2021
Profs. Segalman and Hawker
Profs. Segalman and Hawker

Two UC Santa Barbara engineers are among the 129 new members worldwide elected to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) for 2021. Materials and chemistry professor and BioPACIFIC MIP co-PI Craig Hawker and Rachel Segalman, chair of the Chemical Engineering Department, join the 106 American and 23 foreign engineers honored this year. Election to the NAE is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer.

Segalman, the Edward Noble Kramer Professor and professor of chemical engineering and materials, was recognized “for contributions to semiconducting block polymers, polymeric ionic liquids, and hybrid thermoelectric materials.” Segalman is one of the primary drivers of the BioPACIFIC MIP effort at UCSB.

Hawker, the Alan and Ruth Heeger Chair in Interdisciplinary Science, who also serves as the director of the California NanoSystems Institute (CNSI) and the Dow Materials Institute, was cited ”for contributions to polymer chemistry through synthetic organic chemistry concepts and the advancement of molecular engineering principles.”