CNSI Co-director Hawker Elected to the NAS

National Recognition
May 5, 2022
Prof. Craig Hawker
Prof. Craig Hawker

BioPACIFIC MIP Lead and Professor of Materials and Chemistry and Biochemistry, Craig Hawker, is one of three UC Santa Barbara professors elected to the National Academy of Sciences, an honor among the highest a scientist can achieve. Chemist Alison Butler, geographer Richard Church, and Hawker take their place among the academy’s 3,029 national and international members. The organization offers membership to scientists in recognition of distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

“Our UC Santa Barbara community is so honored and proud to congratulate Professors Butler, Church and Hawker,” said Chancellor Henry T. Yang. “Election by one’s peers to the National Academy of Sciences is a deeply meaningful recognition of years of hard work, pioneering research and unique contributions to science and our society. We are inspired by their achievements and delighted to see our distinguished colleagues honored in this way.”